Sep 15, 2019  
2018-2019 College Catalog 
    
2018-2019 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Schedule of Fees and Charges



Note: Tuition is set by the North Carolina General Assembly and is subject to change without notice. Please check www.lenoircc.edu for the most up-to-date tuition rates.

Residency

Under North Carolina law, a person may qualify as a resident for tuition purposes in North Carolina and thereby be eligible for a tuition rate lower than that for nonresidents. The North Carolina General Assembly, by and through its enactment, has determined that lower tuition rates be available only to NC legal residents. To be eligible for the in-state rate, the applicant must demonstrate each of the following:

  1. Capacity and Presence — must be physically present in NC and able to make NC a permanent home
  2. Intent — must show evidence or actions of a permanent home in NC
  3. Duration — must show intent for 12 full months prior to the date application is submitted

In essence, the controlling North Carolina statute (G.S 116-143.1) requires that “To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least 12 months immediately prior to his or her classification as a resident for tuition purposes.” Statutory definitions, rules, and special provisions for determining residence status for tuition purposes are also set forth in the statute and include special rules with respect to persons who are minors, married persons, members of the armed forces, aliens, federal personnel, and prisoners. Exceptions are also made for emergency workers and persons 65 years or older. Copies of the applicable law and of implementing regulations are available for inspection in the Office of Admissions and may be examined upon request.

Tuition for Curriculum Instruction

In accordance with the basic concepts of comprehensive community colleges, all fees are nominal and are held to a minimum. Tuition per semester is as follows:

In-State Fee Schedule

Credit Hours Tuition Activity Fee Technology Fee CAPS Fee Accident Insurance Grand Total
1 $76.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $121.65
2 $152.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $197.65
3 $228.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $273.65
4 $304.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $349.65
5 $380.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $425.65
6 $456.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $501.65
7 $532.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $577.65
8 $608.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $653.65
9 $684.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $746.65
10 $760.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $822.65
11 $836.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $882.65
12 $912.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $974.65
13 $988.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,050.65
14 $1,064.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,126.65
15 $1,140.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,202.65
16 $1,216.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,278.65

Out-of-State Fee Schedule

Credit Hours Tuition Activity Fee Technology Fee CAPS Fee Accident Insurance Grand Total
1 $268.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $313.65
2 $536.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $581.65
3 $804.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $849.65
4 $1,072.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,117.65
5 $1,340.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,385.65
6 $1,608.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,653.65
7 $1,876.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $1,921.65
8 $2,144.00 $18.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $2,189.65
9 $2,412.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $2,474.65
10 $2,680.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $2,742.65
11 $2,948.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $3,010.65
12 $3,216.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $3,278.65
13 $3,484.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $3,546.65
14 $3,752.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $3,814.65
15 $4,020.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $4,082.65
16 $4,288.00 $35.00 $16.00 $10.00 $1.65 $4,350.65

OTHER CHARGES: Books and supplies vary for different programs. Students should check with their advisors regarding approximate costs of books and supplies.

Note: No activity, technology, or college access, parking and security (CAPS) fee is charged during the summer semester.

Note: The College reserves the right to charge students additional costs associated with verification of student identity.

*Tuition rates may change pending final legislative approval.

Activity, CAPS, Technology, and Insurance Fees

Each curriculum student is assessed an activity fee for support of student activities. The fee is prorated as follows:

  12 credit hours or more $35.00
  1-8 credit hours $18.00

The fees will be deposited each semester as follows:

  50% for athletics
  50% for all other student activities

Each curriculum student is assessed a college access, parking, and security (CAPS) fee of $10.00 per semester (excluding summer). This money will be used for registration stickers and improvement of parking facilities.

Each curriculum student is assessed a technology fee to help fund the computer labs and other technology on campus. The fee is $16.00 per semester (excluding summer).

Fees for Non-Curriculum Extension Instruction

Fees for occupational courses are as follows: 0–24 hours: $70.00; 25–50 hours: $125.00; 51+ hours: $180.00. The registration fee for self-supporting courses varies according to the direct costs of the course. The registration fee is waived by the State Board of Community Colleges for specific groups of students. These fees are listed under the Continuing Education section. These fees are subject to change without notice. There are no registration fees for transitional and career studies courses.

*Tuition rates may change pending final legislative approval.

Flight Cost

The cost of flight instruction is not included in the schedule of fees and charges. This information is supplied by the Aviation Management and Career Pilot Technology Program Chair upon request. For further information, call the Center for Aviation Education 252-522-1735.

Tuition Refund Procedure for Curriculum Instruction

  1. A tuition refund shall be made only under the following circumstances:
    1. A 100% tuition refund will be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of class(es) of the academic semester as noted in the college calendar.
    2. A 75% tuition refund will be made if the student officially withdraws from a class(es) prior to or on the official 10% point of the semester.
    3. A 100% tuition refund will be made if a student officially withdraws from off-cycle class(es) prior to the first day of class(es).
    4. A 75% tuition refund will be made if a student officially withdraws from off-cycle class(es) prior to or on the official 10% point of the class(es).
  2. To comply with applicable federal regulations regarding refunds to individuals or groups, federal regulations will supersede the state refund regulations.
  3. Where a student, having paid the required tuition for a semester, dies during that semester, (prior to or on the last day of examinations of the semester the student was attending) all tuition and fees for that semester may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.
  4. The student’s activity, technology fee, college access, parking and security (CAPS) fee, and the accident insurance fee will be refunded if the student’s class(es) are cancelled or if the student officially withdraws prior to or on the official 10% point of the class(es).

Registration Fee Refund Procedure for Extension Instruction

  1. The refund policy for continuing education courses, as established by the NC State Board of Community Colleges allows for a 75% refund, upon the request of the student if the student officially withdrawals prior to or on the 10% point of the class.
  2. A 100% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of the class. Also, a student is eligible for a 100% refund if the class in which the student is officially registered is cancelled due to insufficient enrollment.
  3. Registration fees for self-supporting classes are non-refundable once the class begins.